I just got this in email from Clay English of
RTBS. it was sent to him by jeffe ronne. So just passing it on here also now...
<TABLE BORDER=0 ALIGN=CENTER WIDTH=85%><TR><TD><font class="pn-sub">Quote:</font><HR></TD></TR><TR><TD><FONT class="pn-sub"><BLOCKQUOTE> From:
cenglish@redtailboas.com
To:
LORI_SnakesRule@redtailboa.net
Subject: Red Tail Boas Forum: Subject
Date: Tue, 27 Aug 2002 09:05:11 -0700
I received this email from Jeff Ronne and wanted to forward to my members.
It reads as follows:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~`
I just received an email from someone claiming to be TechSupport@Paypal.com.
They asked to have me log into my account and update information. The link
provided was this:
https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_login-run
The only problem is this does not actually come up in the location bar.
The actual address you get forwarded to is this one:
http://www.confirm-paypal.com/cgi_bi...md=_login-run/
This is NOT a Paypal web site. This is someone intending to defraud and
take any moneys you have from your account. Please note two things. 1. The
beginning address starts out with http:// and not https:// The s after
the http lets you know it is on a secure server. Paypal warns against never
entering your email address or password without the https at the beginning
of the web address. 2. The actual web site is actually
www.confirm-paypal.com
and not
www.paypal.com . Paypal always comes up
https://www.paypal.com
followed by additional information. Any other address is someone looking
to defraud you and steal your money or otherwise wreak havoc with your Paypal
account. This domain name was only purchased five days ago and is certainly
not a real Paypal web site. Do not enter your information. If you have entered
any information I would immediately contact Paypal and find out what should
be done. I notified Paypal but am not sure how long it takes these notices
to go through the system. If I have any money in my Paypal account and accidental
entered my email address or password after clicking this fraudulent link
I would immediately remove any money remaining out of that account and or
change my password IMMEDIATELY!
I hope you were not a victim of this scam. I am not able to answer any
questions about this though. Please contact Paypal for assistance. I just
wanted to warn everyone I knew to beware of this situation.
Thanks,
Jeff Ronne
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I wanted you guys to be aware of this information
-Best Regards
Clay English
</BLOCKQUOTE></FONT></TD></TR><TR><TD><HR></TD></TR></TABLE>
[addsig]